The inter-university Institute for Public History (IPG) aims to provide education, research and services about the different ways that societies deal with history, both in the past and today.  It is a center of expertise in which academic historical knowledge is translated and transmitted to society through education, museums, historical exhibitions, commemorations, media, patrimony associations etc. In short, wherever meaning is given to the past. 

1. Teaching

  • Organisation of public history program in third bachelor and master of history education program at Ghent University
  • Organisation of internships with various partners
  • Supplementary training of history teachers and pedagogues
  • Realization of collaboration between universities and sharing of expertise 
  • Development of an international network within the International Federation for Public History 

2. Research 

  • Fundamental research on historical practices in both present and past via the research line of metahistory and public history of the research group Social History after 1750
  • Thesis research in metahistory and public history
  • Applied historical research aimed at expertise-building and the creation of a laboratorial environment for students 
  • Research-on-demand on the condition of expertise on a content or methodological level within the research group

3. Public service and public projects 

  • Scientific advice for non-profit organizations
  • Facilitating projects aimed at sharing knowledge or methodological training within the context of the academic world and freedom
  • Various partnerships and engagements on the condition of expertise on a content or methodological level within the research group
  • Projects and activities in order to translate the intra-university expertise of the Ghent University department of History to a wide audience
  • Build-up of a network


Steering committee

  • Patrick Allegaert (Guislain Museum)
  • Herman Balthazar (Ghent University)
  • Piet Chielens (In Flanders Fields)
  • Ides De Bruyne (Pascal Decroosfonds for Special Journalism)
  • Jeroen Deploige (Ghent University)
  • Sylvie Dhaene (Huis van Alijn)
  • Sophie de Schaepdrijver (Penn State University)
  • Ronny Gobyn (Tijdsbeeld-Piècemontée)
  • Marc Jacobs (Faro. Flemish authority for cultural heritage)
  • Marc Reynebeau (newspaper De Standaard)
  • Pierre Schoentjes (Ghent University)
  • Carine Stevens (The province of East Flanders)
  • Roel Vande Winkel (Antwerp Univerisity)
  • David Van Reybrouck (Writer)
  • Paule Verbruggen (Amsab-Instituut voor Sociale Geschiedenis)
  • Nico Wouters (Heritage Center Lamot, Cegesoma)